Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Endocrine Program]

Members

Photo: Louis F. Amorosa.

Louis F. Amorosa
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition
Professor of Medicine, Endocrinology
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
Email: amoroslo@umdnj.edu
Research: Thyroid cancer, hypercalcemia, diabetes

 
Photo: Carol Bagnell.

Carol Bagnell
Professor and Chair
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: bagnell@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Reproductive tissue growth and remodeling and the role of cell-cell communication

 
Photo: Patricia Buckendahl.

Patricia Buckendahl
Assistant Research Professor
Center of Alcohol Studies
Rutgers University
Email: buckendp@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Effect of osteocalcin in behavior, stress response, and alcohol consumption

 
Photo: Kiran Chada.

Kiran Chada
Director, Genomics Centre of New Jersey
Genomics Centre of New Jersey
UMDNJ-RWJMS
Email: chada@umdnj.edu
Research: Mammalian genetics and human disease

 
Photo: Don Chen.

Don Chen
University Professor
Department of Pharmacology
UMDNJ-RWJMS
Email: chenjd@umdnj.edu
Research: Gene regulation by nuclear hormone receptors

 
Photo: Wendie Cohick.

Wendie Cohick
Associate Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: cohick@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Role of the insulin-like growth factors (IGF) in mammary gland growth and development

 
Photo: Allan H. Conney.

Allan H. Conney
Professor
Department of Chemical Biology
Rutgers University
Email: aconney@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Cancer chemoprevention and cancer therapy by differentiating agents

 
Photo: Keith Cooper.

Keith Cooper
Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology
Rutgers University
Email: cooper@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Xenobiotic metabolism in aquatic animals

 
Photo: David Denhardt.

David Denhardt
Professor
Department of Cell Biology and Neuroscience
Rutgers University
Email: denhardt@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Systems biology of osteopontin: Role in autoimmune disease, stress responses, bone remodeling and cancer metastasis

 
Photo: Joe Fondell.

Joe Fondell
Professor
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: fondeljd@umdnj.edu
Research: Regulation of gene expression by nuclear hormone receptors.

 
Photo: Michael Gallo.

Michael Gallo
Director, Toxicology Division: Director, NIEHS Center of Excellence
Department of Environmental and Occupational Medicine
UMDNJ
Email: magallo@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Research: Dioxins; Experimental Models

 
Photo: Ariel Igal.

Ariel Igal
Assistant Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: igal@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: The non-energetic functions of triacylglycerol (triglycerides) in human cells: role in cell membrane synthesis and cell signaling

 
Photo: Estela Jacinto.

Estela Jacinto
Post-doctoral Fellow
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: jacintes@umdnj.edu
Research: Signal transduction, growth control, actin cytoskeleton

 
Photo: Henry John-Alder.

Henry John-Alder
Chair - Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources
Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources
Rutgers University
Email: henry@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Attainment of adult body size

 
Photo: Larry Katz.

Larry Katz
Director, Rutgers Cooperative Extension

Associate Director, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station
Rutgers University
Email: katz@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Endocrine basis of sexual behavior in ruminants

 
Photo: Tony Kong.

Tony Kong
Professor
Department of Pharmaceutics
Rutgers University
Email: kongt@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Pharmaceutical Biotechnology; Pharmacogenomics and toxicogenomics of cancer chemopreventive compounds.

 
Photo: Ken Mckeever.

Ken Mckeever
Associate Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: mckeever@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Comparative exercise and cardiovascular physiology

 
Photo: Paul Manowitz.

Paul Manowitz
Professor
Division of Addiction Psychiatry
UMDNJ
Email: Manowitz@umdnj.edu
Research: Genetics of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse

 
Photo: Nicola Partridge.

Nicola Partridge
Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: partrinc@umdnj.edu
Research: Signal transduction, molecular endocrinology, transcriptional regulation, metalloproteinases

 
Photo: Ling Qin.

Ling Qin
Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: qinl1@umdnj.edu
Research: Bone metabolism, osteoporosis and mesenchymal stem cell proliferation and differentiation

 
Photo: Loredana Quadro.

Loredana Quadro
Assistant Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: quadro@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: The relationship between nutrients and human health, at different stages of the life cycle

 
Photo: Ilya Raskin.

Ilya Raskin
Professor
Biotechnology Center for Agriculture and the Environment
Rutgers University
Email: raskin@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: Discover and develop novel botanical therapeutics from plants

 
Photo: Michael Reiss.

Michael Reiss
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
UMDNJ-RWJMS
Email: reiss@umdnj.edu
Research: Role of transforming growth factor-(TGF) in human cancer, targeting TGF signaling as cancer therapy

 
Photo: Kenneth Reuhl.

Kenneth Reuhl
Director, Joint Graduate Program in Toxicology
Department of Pharmacology
Rutgers University
Email: reuhl@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Research: Xenobiotics and brain development

 
Photo: Linda Rhodes.

Linda Rhodes
Founder, AlcheraBio
AlcheraBio
Rutgers University
Email: lindarho@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Development of new animal health and productivity tools based on biotechnology

 
Photo: Mark Robson.

Mark Robson
Chairman, Dept. of Environmental and Occupational Health
Department of Environmental and Occupational Health
Rutgers University
Email: robson@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Research: Exposures to pesticides

 
Photo: Hong Ruan.

Hong Ruan
Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: ruanho@umdnj.edu
Research: Obesity-linked type II diabetes

 
Photo: Dipak K. Sarkar.

Dipak K. Sarkar
Director, Endocrine Program
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: sarkar@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: Influences of stress and drug abuse on neuroendocrineimmune system and cancer

 
Photo: Sue Shapses.

Sue Shapses
Associate Professor and Director, New Jersey Obesity Group
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: shapses@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Nutritional regulation of skeletal tissues by examining the biochemistry and gene expression within the extracellular matrix

 
Photo: Gleb Shumyatsky.

Gleb Shumyatsky
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers University
Email: Gleb@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of learning and memory

 
Photo: Robert Snyder.

Robert Snyder
Assoc. Dean for Research, EOHSI
Dept. of Environmental and Occupational Health
Rutgers University
Email: rsnyder@eohsi.Rutgers.edu
Research: Toxic and Carcinogenic Effects of Benzene

 
Photo: Judith Stern.

Judith Stern
Professor
Department of Psychology
Rutgers University
Email: jmstern@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Hormones and behavior

 
Photo: Chih-Cheng Tsai.

Chih-Cheng Tsai
Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
UMDNJ
Email: tsaich@umdnj.edu
Research: Roles of transcriptional co-repressors in chromatin modifications

 
Photo: Mehmet Uzumcu.

Mehmet Uzumcu
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: uzumcu@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Ovary and testis biology, and of the effects of the environment on the ovary and female fertility

 
Photo: Malcolm Watford.

Malcolm Watford
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: watford@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: The role and regulation of glutamine and glutamate metabolism

 
Photo: Lori A. White.

Lori A. White
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers University
Email: lawhite@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular mechanisms of xenobiotic-induced pathologies

 
Photo: Sunil Wimalawansa.

Sunil Wimalawansa
Chief of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition, and Director - Osteoporosis Center
Professor of Medicine, Endocrinology
UMDNJ
Email: wimalasu@umdnj.edu
Research: Osteoporosis

 
Photo: C. S. Yang.

C. S. Yang
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers University
Email: csyang@rci.Rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular mechanisms of carcinogenesis and its prevention

 
No Photo Available.

Lei Yu
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers University
Email: yu@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular genetics of alcoholism, compulsive behavior, drug abuse, pain, and stress

 
Photo: Rob Zachow.

Rob Zachow
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Department of UMDNJ
Email: zachowrj@umdnj.edu
Research: Reproductive endocrinology, steroidogenesis, signal transduction

 

Useful Links

-----