Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Endocrine Program]

Members

Photo: Lauren M. Aleksunes.

Lauren M. Aleksunes
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: aleksunes@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Research: Regulation of fetal exposure to endocrine-acting chemicals by the placental barrier.

 
Photo: Louis F. Amorosa.

Louis F. Amorosa
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition
Professor of Medicine, Endocrinology
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
Email: amoroslo@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Thyroid cancer, hypercalcemia, diabetes

 
Photo: Carol Bagnell.

Carol Bagnell
Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: bagnell@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Reproductive tissue growth and remodeling and the role of cell-cell communication

 
Photo: Elisa Bandera.

Elisa Bandera
Professor of Epidemiology
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
Email: elisa.bandera@rutgers.edu
Research: Epidemiology of breast and ovarian cancer, obesity and cancer, food estrogens, cancer health disparities

 
Photo: Marsha Bates.

Marsha Bates
Distinguished Research Professor
Associate Director – Center for Alcohol Studies
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: mebates@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Heart rate variability and the baroreflex mechanism in behavioral flexibility, alcohol and drug effects on cognitive and neuropsychological functioning, neurocognitive deficits and recovery of function in addiction treatment outcomes, neurocardiac signaling to develop novel interventions to interrupt craving and negative affective states that promote relapse

 
Photo: William Belden.

William Belden
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: beldenwj@rutgers.edu
Research: Understanding the molecular aspects of chromatin-remodeling and circadian rhythms

 
Photo: Nicholas Bello.

Nicholas Bello
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: ntbello@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Neural control of feeding and diet selection

 
Photo: Patricia Buckendahl.

Patricia Buckendahl
Assistant Research Professor
Center of Alcohol Studies
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: buckendp@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Effect of osteocalcin in behavior, stress response, and alcohol consumption

 
Photo: Wendie Cohick.

Wendie Cohick
Professor and Chair
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: cohick@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Role of the insulin-like growth factors (IGF) in mammary gland growth and development

 
Photo: Keith Cooper.

Keith Cooper
Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology
Rutgers University
Email: cooper@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Xenobiotic metabolism in aquatic animals

 
Photo: Kiron M. Das.

Kiron M. Das
Professor of Medicine
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: daskm@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Inflammatory Bowel Disease, GERD, Esophageal and Gastric Cancer

 
Photo: Sunanda Gaur.

Sunanda Gaur
Professor of Pediatrics
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: gaursu@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Pediatric HIV/Lyme Disease, Dongenital Infection, CMV, Travel Infections

 
Photo: Celine Gelinas.

Celine Gelinas
Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: gelinas@cabm.rutgers.edu
Research: Cancer, Oncogenes, Transcription Factor, Cell Proliferation, Apoptosis

 
Photo: Beatrice Haimovich.

Beatrice Haimovich
Associate Professor
Department of Surgery
RWJMS Rutgers
Email: haimovic@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Signal transduction, cellular metabolism, inflammation, innate immune cells

 
Photo: James Haorah.

James Haorah
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Email: james.haorah@njit.edu
Research: Molecular, biochemical and cellular mechanisms of oxidative injury of the neurovascular components during substance abuse, blast-wave brain injury or HIV infection

 
Photo: Ronald P. Hart.

Ronald P. Hart
Professor
Department of Cell Biology and Neuroscience
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: rhart@rutgers.edu
Research: Stem cells to study neurogenesis and neural disease

 
Photo: Shawna Hudson.

Shawna Hudson
Research Division Chief
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: hudsonsh@rutgers.edu
Research: Cancer Disparities, Cancer Survivors, Primary Care, Health Communication, Cultural Competency, Qualitative Research

 
Photo: Shengkan (Victor) Jin.

Shengkan (Victor) Jin
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: jinsh@rutgers.edu
Research: Targeting mitochondria, the engine of life, for treating type 2 diabetes, cancer, and aging

 
Photo: Henry John-Alder.

Henry John-Alder
Chair - Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources
Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources
Rutgers University
Email: henry@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Attainment of adult body size

 
Photo: Gary Aston Jones.

Gary Aston Jones

Director, Rutgers Brain Health Institute
Professor
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: aston.jones@rutgers.edu
Research: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Autism, Addiction, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s Diseases

 
Photo: Larry Katz.

Larry Katz
Director, Rutgers Cooperative Extension

Associate Director, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station
Rutgers University
Email: katz@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Endocrine basis of sexual behavior in ruminants

 
Photo: Tony Kong.

Tony Kong
Professor
Department of Pharmaceutics
Rutgers University
Email: kongt@rci.rutgers.edu
Research: Pharmaceutical Biotechnology; Pharmacogenomics and toxicogenomics of cancer chemopreventive compounds.

 
Photo: Sara Lubitz.

Sara Lubitz
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Pituitary Program
Program Director, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Fellowship
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: lubitzsa@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Pituitary Disease, Thyroid Disorders

 
Photo: Ian Marshall.

Ian Marshall
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: marshaia@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: All pediatric endocrine disorders including diabetes, disorders of the adrenal and ovarian glands, thyroid growth, puberty, bone, calcium and vitamin D

 
Photo: Ken Mckeever.

Ken Mckeever
Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: mckeever@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Comparative exercise and cardiovascular physiology

 
Photo: John Pintar.

John Pintar
Professor
Department of Neuroscience and Cell Biology
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: pintar@cabm.rutgers.edu
Research: Genetic and behavioral analysis of endogenous opioid systems; insulin-like growth factor systems in development and cancer; post-translational processing enzymes

 
Photo: Nikolaos T. Pyrsopoulos.

Nikolaos T. Pyrsopoulos
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine, Rutgers – New Jersey Medical School
Email: Nikolaos.pyrsopoulos@rutgers.edu
Research: Gastroenterology/Hepatology

 
Photo: Loredana Quadro.

Loredana Quadro
Assistant Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: quadro@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: Dietary intake of fat-soluble vitamins, such as vitamin A and its carotenoid precursors beta-carotene, and maternal-fetal health

 
Photo: Sally Radovick.

Sally Radovick
Senior Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Research
Professor of Pediatrics
Child Health Institute of New Jersey
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: s.radovick@rutgers.edu
Research: Pediatric growth and developmental disorders

 
Photo: Ilya Raskin.

Ilya Raskin
Professor
Biotechnology Center for Agriculture and the Environment
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: raskin@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: Discover and develop novel botanical therapeutics from plants

 
Photo: Kenneth Reuhl.

Kenneth Reuhl
Director, Joint Graduate Program in Toxicology
Department of Pharmacology
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: reuhl@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Research: Xenobiotics and brain development

 
Photo: Mark Robson.

Mark Robson
Distinguished Service Professor
Chair, Department of Plant Biology and Pathology
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: robson@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Exposures to pesticides

 
Photo: Troy Roepke.

Troy Roepke
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email:  ta.roepke@rutgers.edu
Research:  Effects of environmental stresses, both naturally occurring and anthropogenic, on the physiological functions of organisms

 
Photo: Dipak K. Sarkar.

Dipak K. Sarkar
Director, Endocrine Program
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: sarkar@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Influences of stress and drug abuse on neuroendocrineimmune system and cancer

 
Photo: Stephen H. Schneider.

Stephen H. Schneider
Professor
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: schneide@rutgers.edu
Research: Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition

 
Photo: Sue Shapses.

Sue Shapses
Professor and Team Leader, New Jersey Obesity Group
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: shapses@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Nutritional and hormonal regulation of skeletal tissues and absorption by examining the biochemistry and gene expression; clinical trials involve weight loss, satiety and body composition.

 
Photo: Tracey Shors.

Tracey Shors
Distinguished Professor
Department of Psychology
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: shors@rutgers.edu
Research: Behavioral and Systems Neuroscience

 
Photo: Gleb Shumyatsky.

Gleb Shumyatsky
Associate Professor
Department of Genetics
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: gleb@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of learning and memory

 
Photo: Jay Tischfield.

Jay Tischfield
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: jay@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Medical and human genetics: the genetics of somatic cells, mouse models for human diseases and genes for complex human genetic disorders

 
Photo: Mehmet Uzumcu.

Mehmet Uzumcu
Associate Professor
Department of Animal Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: uzumcu@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research: Ovary and testis biology, and of the effects of the environment on the ovary and female fertility

 
Photo: Michael Verzi.

Michael Verzi
Assistant Professor
Department of Genetics
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: verzi@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Transcriptional mechanisms underlying intestinal health

 
Photo: Xiangbing D. Wang.

Xiangbing D. Wang
Associate Professor of Medicine
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: wangx9@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Research: Thyroid and Parathyroid Disorders


 
Photo: Malcolm Watford.

Malcolm Watford
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: watford@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research: The role and regulation of glutamine and glutamate metabolism

 
Photo: Lori A. White.

Lori A. White
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: lawhite@sebs.Rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular mechanisms of xenobiotic-induced pathologies

 
Photo: Chang S. Yang.

Chang S. Yang
Distinguished Professor
Department of Chemical Biology
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: csyang@pharmacy.rutgers.edu
Research: Alleviation of Metabolic Syndrome by Tea and Other Phytochemicals; Mechanisms of carcinogenesis and cancer prevention

 
Photo: Jiang-Hong Ye.

Jiang-Hong Ye
Professor
UMDNJ – New Jersey Medical School
Department of Pharmacology and Physiology
Email: ye@njms.rutgers.edu
Research: The role of ion channels of the nervous system in anesthesia and alcoholism

 
Photo: Lei Yu.

Lei Yu
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: yu@biology.rutgers.edu
Research: Molecular genetics of alcoholism, compulsive behavior, drug abuse, pain, and stress

 
Photo: Helmut Zarbl.

Helmut Zarbl
Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
UMDNJ
Email: zarbl@eohsi.Rutgers.edu
Research: Mammary carcinogenesis, lung carcinogenesis, mechanisms of toxicity, genetic susceptibility, toxicogenomics, tumor suppressor genes, functional genomics, signal transduction, transcriptional regulation, mutagenesis

 

Useful Links

-----