Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Endocrine Program]


7th Annual Pioneers in Endocrinology Workshop Report

“Hormones and Cancer" was the theme of the 7th Annual Pioneers in Endocrinology Workshop held on September 22, 2014, at the Busch Campus Center. Almost 100 students, postdocs, faculty, and staff attended the daylong event comprised of morning presentations and an afternoon poster session.

The workshop was sponsored by the following partners:

  • Rutgers Endocrine Program
  • Department of Animal Sciences at the Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences
  • Rutgers NJAES Cooperative Extension
  • Rutgers-RWJMS Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Nutrition

We acknowledge the hard work and dedication of all members of the Organizing Committee – Drs. Louis Amorosa, Carol Bagnell, Wendie Cohick, Larry Katz, Dipak Sarkar, and Sue Shapses –as well as the Endocrine Program postdocs and students, Animal Sciences administrative staff, and Endocrinology and Animal Biosciences graduate students who provided assistance.

A story describing the workshop is posted on the Newsroom of the School of Environmental and Biological Sciences and the New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station. Additional photos are presented below.

Top row: Dipak Sarkar; Wendie Cohick and Suzanne Fuqua; Bob Goodman, Dipak Sarkar, and Carol Bagnell. Bottom row: Douglas Yee, Louis Amorosa, and Stephen Schneider; Christopher Molloy

Speakers Suzanne Fuqua (top) and Douglas Yee (bottom) reported on their own research and discussed the pioneering work of others in the field of breast cancer.

Both speakers answered questions during the Q&A immediately following each talk and during lunch.

Top row: Sue Shapses and Hillary Stires queried Douglas Yee, while Larry Katz moderates.
Bottom row:
Suzanne Fuqua (at front table) chatting with students and postdocs during lunch.

The afternoon poster session was held in the Fireside Lounge of the Busch Campus Center.

Top row: Loredana Quadro with students; Jennifer Skorupa, Amanda Jetzt, Ankita Gupta
Bottom row:
Douglas Yee with Louis Amorosa; Sara Campbell

Postdoctoral associates receive congratulations from Dipak Sarkar for their prize-winning posters: Sengottuvelan Murugan (left) and Ryan Logan (right)

Arpita Bhurke also won an award for her poster, which was coauthored by her mentors Mehmet Uzumcu and Aparna Zama. Arpita is currently a PhD student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Useful Links