Skip Navigation

Awards & Prizes

Dr. Zhiping Pang and Dr. Lauren Aleksunes receive RBHS Chancellor Awards

On October 7, 2020, the RBHS Chancellor’s office announced the recipients of the inaugural RBHS Chancellor Awards, which were established to acknowledge the extraordinary work of faculty and staff. Dr. Zhiping Pang, associate professor at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, received a Chancellor Basic Sciences Researcher Award “for his contributions to the study of neurodevelopment and neuropsychiatric disorders and discovery of new technologies to advance neuroscience research.” Dr. Lauren Aleksunes, professor at Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy and the Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute, received a Chancellor Educator of the Year Award “for her dedication to the education and mentoring of students across multiple disciplines.”

Professor Dipak Sarkar receives the Advancement of Science Award from NJAS

On July 1, 2020, the New Jersey Academy of Science (NJAS) granted the inaugural Advancement of Science Award to Dr. Dipak Sarkar, Distinguished Professor, Director of the Endocrine Program, and PI of the MNADRT program team. This award recognizes “scientists, engineers, STEM educators, leaders, spokespeople, or professional organizations that have demonstrated excellence in science and have developed an outstanding contribution to knowledge or support in the biological, physical, mathematical, or engineering sciences.” Dr. Sarkar’s astounding accomplishments include 194 peer-reviewed journal articles, 16 book chapters, 333 abstracts and invited speaker opportunities, 2 book publications, and 130 public citations that have “contributed to a better understanding on neuroendocrine cell growth, differentiation and secretion, natural killer cells, cancer, epigenetics, and alcohol exposure.” He will be honored at a virtual event taking place on August 22, 2020, that will showcase a series of lectures in the fields of endocrinology, alcohol studies, and cancer. NJAS was established in 1954 as a non-profit organization whose mission is “to preserve and promote the advancement of STEM-related fields among the NJ scientific community” through education and research.

Professor Jay Tischfield receives HINJ Honors for Pioneering Genetics Researcher

HINJ honored Prof. Jay A. Tischfield of Rutgers University–New Brunswick today (Dec. 9, 2019) “in recognition of innovative and creative leadership in genetics research, scholarship and commercial collaborations.” Read full article.

Professor Dipak Sarkar Receives 2017 Distinguished Researcher Award from International Society

Dipak Sarkar, distinguished professor in the Department of Animal Sciences and director of the Endocrine Program at Rutgers, was awarded the 2017 Distinguished Researcher Award by the Research Society on Alcoholism (RSA). Read full article.

Professor Zhiping Pang Earns Prestigious Award in Recognition of Scientific Studies into Brain and Development Disorders

The Brain & Behavior Research Foundation has awarded the 2012 Freedman Prize to Zhiping Pang, MD, PhD, in honor of his success in developing a novel way to study synaptic dysfunction of brain and behavior disorders, including schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. Read full article.